I had one person asking me if Acai (pronounced Ah-Sigh-ee) Berries are halal on multiple platforms – on IG DM, IG Story Responses and E-mail (@halalfoodhunt). I couldn’t give an earlier (shorter) reply, because Acai Berries is a new trending super food, and therefore is not yet familiar in the halal space. Therefore, I wanted to look into it on a slightly deeper level before giving an answer.
Are Acai Berries Halal?
While there is an absence of dalil to support the claim that cows fed with alcohol make their meat haram, it is also not ‘clearly’ halal. There are far more supporting arguments are pointing towards authentic Wagyu being makruh. Halal Certification for Wagyu is that the cows are not fed with alcohol prior to slaughtering (according to Islamic Rites).